top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Subscribe

Email

Homesickness (Home-allergies)

You know when it's that time of the year where everyone is sneezing or coughing or something else that's gross? In Kentucky we blame it on the pollen shifting or the weather changing. In Korea I've heard that it's because of China's microdust. In both places, when you ask someone if they're sick they always say "No I'm fine, it's just allergies."

Don't worry it was just super early (6am)

Before I left, my family and I joked that I probably wouldn't get homesick. I would be having too much fun or doing so much stuff that I wouldn't have time to think about home. In a way, that's somewhat true so far (there is always so much going on). What I've experienced is better described as "home-allergies."

The way people handle living abroad is always different. During orientation they told us that some people would get super homesick (side effects include unexplainable crying) while some people wouldn't experience it at all. I'm here to tell you about the inbetween phase, like when you know you've got allergies but you wouldn't waste a trip to the doctor on them. After all, they'll pass once you adjust to the season change.

The first part of my "home-allergies" that I noticed was how I slept in my bed in my host family's house. Even after I adjusted to the time difference, I was still having trouble falling asleep. When I finally did fall asleep, I somehow maneuvered my way to wake up with my head at the foot of the bed. I started going to bed this way everynight and fell asleep right away. For a few seconds in the morning, I would think I was in my Kentucky bed because of the wall placement. This was a warm familiar feeling, not a sad one when I realized it wasn't really my bed.

For me, it has just been a few small things I notice here and there. Nothing to get worked up about or 'visit the doctor over.' If I hum a Disney tune, Kenneth and Mom aren't there to burst into song. When I'm brushing my teeth, there aren't 5 or 6 other people crowding in trying to as well.

In no way has my "home-allergies" made my experience negative, but it's important to acknowledge them and realize that everyone on the program is going through their own stuff and handling it all differently. Luckily I have some amazing people here with me and we're all in this together.

bottom of page